The Brooklyn Bridge Park Boathouse is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit and completely volunteer-run organization dedicated to promoting human-powered boating in Brooklyn Bridge Park. Our programs allow all New York City residents and Brooklyn Bridge Park visitors the chance to paddle with spectacular views of the Manhattan skyline, the Brooklyn Bridge, and the Statue of Liberty—for free!

Last summer, in 2017, we put over 5,000 people of all ages and abilities on the water—more than we have in any previous season. Our free walk-up kayaking program exploded in popularity, keeping us busy every Thursday and Saturday all summer long. We also held weekly kayak polo competitions that were free and open to the public, ran a summer kayaking camp at the park for local youth groups, provided advanced kayak training programs for our adult volunteers, and organized kayak trips  for our volunteers to Governor’s Island, the Statue of Liberty, Newtown Creek, and other East River and New York Harbor destinations. 

In 2018, we are expanding our public boating programs and offering additional educational and youth recreation activities. This requires investment in more boats and other needed equipment, as well as repairs to our current kayak fleet.

All of our boats were acquired through generous initial donations from the Brooklyn Bridge Park Conservancy and our own volunteers. We welcome contributions that will enable us to continue our public boating programs through 2018 and beyond. Donations to the Brooklyn Bridge Park Boathouse are fully tax-deductible.

Our kayaking program now operates out of a temporary facility with two storage containers on the park pathway across from Pier 2 and the kayak dock. If you would like to become a volunteer, just drop by when we’re there, or send us an email!

To find out more about how you can help out, check out our Volunteer and Donation pages.


Board & Bylaws

View the BBPB Bylaws & Annual Board Meeting notes here.

Current Brooklyn Bridge Park Boathouse, Inc.
Board of Directors

Charissa Ruth, President
Nathalia Thompson, Vice-President
Louis Coppersmith, Secretary
Stephen Michel, Treasurer
Darrin Amellio
Rob Buchanan
Noah Diary
Matt Frey
Charlie O’Donnell
Bill Orme
Tom Potter
Mike Sylves
Nancy Webster